Joseph Cornell’s Shadowboxes

Joseph Cornell’s shadowboxes have influenced my ideas and developments greatly within my project as I think that having an amulet placed in a frame would build on this idea that objects from our childhood are very precious and must be handled with care. I also think that placing each amulet inside a box could be linked to the idea of a memory box which is something else that I am interested in looking at.

This Cornell box in particular has inspired me to create something similar, whereby each individual box would be filled with an object and as a whole the viewer would be able to see a wide range of toys and other pieces which are linked strongly to the experience of growing up. However, I think that I would like to incorporate the theme of the three primary colours within this piece, perhaps by painting each of the boxes one of the different colours would help to make clear connections to my theme of childhood memories.

Joseph Cornell Shadowbox

Leave a Reply

